Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update, Vaccine Information and Helpful Resources Find out more

Cygnet Nursing Awards 2020 – Celebrating our Nurses in the Year of the Nurse

We are delighted to announce that we are holding our first ever Nursing Awards, on Tuesday 13th October 2020. The awards, which will be held ‘virtually’, feature eight categories with the finalists nominated by their peers across the Cygnet group.

The awards are being organised and hosted by David Wilmott, Director of Nursing at Cygnet Health Care, who said, “I’m particularly proud to be launching the Awards this year as 2020 marks the World Health Organisation’s International Year of the Nurse, in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Florence Nightingale.

“This is a year to reflect on the skills, dedication and expertise that our staff provide and to recognise the positive difference they have on so many people’s lives.

“Despite the pandemic our teams have stepped up to deliver compassionate, high quality care. Thank you. There has never been a better time to show our nurses and our support staff across Cygnet how much they’re valued and to appreciate the challenging, yet rewarding conditions in which they work.

“We had a phenomenal number of nominations for the different award categories and I’d like to congratulate every single one. Our Nursing Awards for 2020 recognise the achievements and the difference that our highly skilled, talented and passionate teams make for our services users and our residents every single day.”

The finalists for each of the award categories are as follows:

Nurse of the Year

  • Paul Blaker – Cygnet Sherwood Lodge
  • Rachel Clifton – Cygnet Hospital Bury
  • Katie Walsh – Cygnet Alders Clinic

Support Worker of the Year

  • Rose Arney – Tupwood Gate Nursing Home
  • Emma Barratt – Cygnet Hospital Derby
  • Cheryl Murdoch – Cygnet Sherwood House

Trainee Nurse Associate of the Year

  • Warren Bridges – Cygnet Heathers
  • Rebecca Horsnell – Cygnet Oaks
  • Ben Roberts – Cygnet Cedars

Nurse Leader of the Year

  • Alicia Curtis – Cygnet Hospital Sheffield
  • Lindah Munowenyu – Cygnet Hospital Woking
  • Hannah Wright – Cygnet Cedars

Nurse Education Award

  • Helen Jennings – Cygnet Hospital Derby
  • Kirsty Oram – The Fields
  • Roy Thompson – Wolverhampton University

Learning Disability Nurse of the Year

  • Rachel Clifton – Cygnet Hospital Bury
  • Katie Gray – Cygnet Lodge Brighouse
  • Marc Moran – Cygnet Aspen House

Nursing Team of the Year

  • Cygnet Aspen Clinic
  • Roseacre Ward, Cygnet Hospital Maidstone
  • Cygnet Sherwood House

We’d like to wish our finalists the very best of luck and we look forward to announcing the winners at our virtual awards ceremony on 13th October.

Share this article